Book Review: Snuggle Time Prayers

Snuggle TimeTitle: Snuggle Time Prayers

Author: Glenys Nellist

Illustrated by: Cee Biscoe

Star rating (out of 5): **

This is a cute book, but I can’t say it really captured my little ones’ attention. Each spread is a prayer based off a Bible verse. Some I think are pretty solid, like the one talking about how God always loves us and reminding us to talk to him when we’re alone or sad. Some were pretty wishy-washy, like the one comparing God’s love to a warm and cozy blanket that makes everything feel right.

The one that I was the most concerned about says God is IN the sunshine/breeze/clouds/etc. It’s an unfortunate word choice since there is a difference between God being present everywhere and the unbiblical idea that there is a bit of God in everything around us. I remember one dinnertime when I was a little girl asking my dad “If God is everywhere, does that mean he’s in my potato chip?” (And if so how could I eat it??) This is the type of language that adds to that sort or confusion, I feel.

The illustrations are very pretty, with gentle pastel colors and sweet animals.

I feel like books in this format (prayers that talk about a concept) don’t catch kids’ attention as much as a story illustrating the concept would.  The book has some redeeming qualities, but I probably don’t love it enough to give it a permanent spot on our family shelves.

Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program in exchange for my honest review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Thank you for stopping by! The best compliment you can give me is a comment, share, or pin!

