Book Review: As You Wish

As You WishTitle: As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride

Author: Cary Elwes

Genre: Memoir

Star Rating (out of 5): ****

For: Anyone who loves The Princess Bride and/or is interested in acting and movie making

My brother, my then-boyfriend (now husband) and I once drove on a 17 hour road trip together, and during the last few hours were going a little stir crazy. I’m not sure how it started, but somehow my brother and I started quoting The Princess Bride, and we spent the last leg of the trip quoting it from start to finish while my husband just listened in bewilderment and disbelief. Haha! I think we quoted at least 3/4 of the lines from memory. That just tells you how much our family loves The Princess Bride!

This book will be a delightful read for anyone who is a big fan of the movie. It is written by Cary Elwes—none other than Farm Boy/Wesley/Dread Pirate Roberts—with excerpts from the director, producer, the author of the book The Princess Bride, and almost all of the other main actors in the film. Elwes writes about being cast for his role, meeting the other cast members, the grueling training for the famous duel scene, and some delightful stories from while they were filming (I will never look at some of the scenes the same again!)

This is not a gossipy tale of backstage backstabbing; in fact it’s more of a love letter to the experience of making the movie and the impact it had on their lives. Elwes is unfailingly magnanimous toward his cast mates, who all seem to share genuine admiration and camaraderie, and his tone is humble and generous throughout.

I listened to it on audiobook, which I highly recommend. Elwes’ voice is lovely and it was a treat to hear the other cast members pipe in with their memories.

This isn’t a book that is going to change my life, but it was a delightful and entertaining read that I’d recommend for anyone who loves the movie. And now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go watch The Princess Bride for the 758th time.

One thought on “Book Review: As You Wish

Thank you for stopping by! The best compliment you can give me is a comment, share, or pin!

