Easy Cranberry Chicken

Cranberry Chicken

Everyone needs some delicious, fool-proof, kid-AND-adult-pleasing, one-dish, freezable, all-around-perfect recipes, and this is one of my favorites.  This is my go-to meal when I deliver meals to friends who have just had babies, surgery, etc.  First, because it is completely stress-free and always turns out, and second because I’ve repeatedly gotten comments like “Wow, my kids gobbled that up!”  Even my notoriously-picky almost three-year-old son immediately took a bite tonight and said “Mmm, mmm!”  And my husband who doesn’t like cranberry sauce loves this recipe and asks for it frequently.  Really, it’s just amazing.

So now, without further ado, the Cranberry Chicken recipe!  I’ve seen this in various places, but I got the recipe from “Don’t Panic!  Dinner’s in the Freezer!” by Martinez, Howell and Garcia.  It freezes perfectly, and the cookbook gives instructions for multiplying and freezing the recipe, so if you’re interested in that, get the cookbook!

Cranberry Chicken

  • 8 oz. Catalina dressing
  • 1 package onion soup mix
  • 1 can whole cranberry sauce
  • 4 boned chicken breasts (I’ve used every cut of chicken for this, and it’s great with everything.  We like dark meat the best, as it gives it more depth of flavor and is usually cheaper.  When I deliver to friends I usually use boneless breasts for the best kid-friendliness.)

Combine Catalina dressing, onion soup, and whole cranberry sauce in baking dish and mix.  Add chicken in a single layer and cover with sauce.  Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 1 hour, or until digital meat thermometer reads 165 degrees.

Talk about easy-peasy, huh?   I serve it on rice drizzled with a liberal amount of sauce and steamed green beans.  Easy and delicious! Enjoy!

Thank you for stopping by! The best compliment you can give me is a comment, share, or pin!

